For large orchestra
Composed 1995-2003: in Salzburg, Vienna, and while in travel; completed in Vienna on 25. December 2003
Duration: ca. 30 minutes

 

(First) attempt at an introduction:

Around 1994, encouraged by Christoph von Dohnanyi, I began to think about a new extensive orchestra piece, even though there were no concrete plans for performances. At that time, the image of classical music was characterized by a kind of canon of apparently eternally valid works, with the modern, together with its variously labeled successors, serving as contrast: avant-garde, new music, music of our time, experimental music, etc., categories to which durability was not generally attested.

In opposition to this cliché I wanted to set up a piece that would attempt to break through diverse platitudes and prejudices: a kind of composed-out music history, which would however question that very history, simultaneously being a kind of persiflage on the traditions and mechanisms of the music business.

I effectively solved the problem of form by piecing together fragments as in a mosaic of diverse colors and thoughts, this within a global development. Therefore the subtitle »Fragments in four parts«: it wasn’t just a matter of creating fragments, but of subjecting these to something like a four-part symphonic form. Each of these fragments, through its processual formation, functions as a phase of the complete work. The individual parts of each movement are therefore designated in the score as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd phases. (In this description of the work, »phase« means the same as »process« or »fragment«

Working through the ambivalence between cliché images of music and compositional fantasy required numerous tricks and lots of artifice, in order not to lose the illusionary and surreal character of an essentially parodistic work.

 

The first part: Matter and Impulse

Musical material—tone, rhythm, scales—and the impulse to do something with it unite in the development of form, a development that never stands still. To begin with, tone: the rhythmically perforated sound surface, in religious music frequently presented as handed down by God, driven to the point of satiety in the 19th century cult of genius (Wagner’s Rheingold), applied in the modern period in a dramaturgically compact manner—this is here deliberately satirized.

Processes of harmonic and rhythmic division serve as basic element of this first fragment (measures 1-42) of the Clichés. The fluvial draining of these matter particles as glissando cascades flattened out into total chromaticism ends this fragment, from out of which subtle processes of filtration (2nd phase or fragment: m. 43-83) slowly crystallize something like a scale system, which then serves to bring out clichés of church music and its modes. An ironic and satiric effect, evident to the knowledgeable listener, is reached through the fusion of incompatible ecclesiastical modes. The evolution of the modes out of chromatic totality and their subsequent ecclesiastical manifestation make up the second fragment of this first part of the Clichés.

Medieval organum serves as point of departure for the first movement’s last fragment (m. 84-119), which is driven into total absurdity by its intricate rhythmic design and by a march-like accompaniment of the snare drum. This is also where the six chords that make up the work’s essential musical material are crystallized, chords that regardless of their metamorphoses will remain the work’s »core«. Not only this piece but also all other works of the extensive cycle op. 22 are based on these same six chords.

One could gather from this that the work’s real exposition begins with the third fragment of the first movement, and that the preceding musical events served to run through processes that prepared the material of that exposition.

The ostinato impulse of this section is framed against two other rhythmic maneuvers: a dotted-note string formation in eight parallel voices, and chordal interjections of the winds. Seen on another level, this last fragment is also a multi-dimensional study in dynamics, made up of a crescendo study in the percussion and of more differentiated dynamic progressions of the strings and winds.

 

The second movement: Filtered Triads

As the title indicates, the main element of this movement is that cliché that succinctly exemplifies tonal music, particularly that with a central European and Viennese stamp, and therefore became an almost superstitiously venerated myth of the art of the immediate past (and of the 19th century): the triad. In the first fragment (m. 1-26) of this second part the single chords that at first distinctly emerged at the end of the first movement are further differentiated, in horizontal movement.

This part goes over almost seamlessly into the second fragment (m. 27-105), which through overlapping of the six filtered-out basic chords allows the contours of a further Viennese cliché, the all too well known waltz, to glimmer through. The handed-down clichés are however transcended by the unorthodox harmonic progressions and by the quite rudimentary melodic interjections, which function like leftover bits of a broadly laid out melodic structure. The ambivalent character of the piece becomes evident.

In the last fragment (m. 105-150), waltz and 2/4 time are combined into a fast 5/4, in which jazz and ragtime illustrate the cliché. Major and minor chords are upgraded in that they appear not only as results of thoroughgoing structural transformations, but come rather to dominantly determine the course of things. At the end of this part, this development is progressively faded out.

 

About the tempi of this work

Attentive listeners will have noted that there are no »slow« or »fast« movements here, but rather movements that each feature diverse tempi and diverse characteristics. Here evolution is therefore more important than tempo. The processual character of the work, always leading to new goals as well as to starting points for new ideas, should be the key for working out an interpretation. The entirety of the work should be regarded as a spiral, which seen from above circles around the same point, but when viewed from the side no longer returns to that point of origin … see the title of the last movement.

 

Third movement: Transformations

In this movement the triad goes through continuous transformations: from major / minor at first into diminished, and then into augmented triads. The diatonicism that dominated the second movement goes into a larva / pupa phase and metamorphoses into a whole-tone sphere, which finally comes to dominate this third movement. This metamorphosis is contoured through the first process (m. 1-33).

Here as in the other movements (parts) the course of events comprises three processes which do exhibit transitions but are nonetheless clearly delineated. The first of these is characterized by the transformation from major / minor into a whole-tone framework. Here the focus is on pitch processes. Unpitched percussion instruments are therefore not used, only mallet instruments such as vibraphone, glockenspiel, etc.

The second process (m. 34-62) rushes dramatically and rapidly by, working out harmonically mutually exclusive whole-tone blocks.

A question-and-answer passage involving several orchestral groups (m. 63-133), with contrasts between whole-tone harmony and half-step coloration, provides the form-building impulse for the third and last phase of this movement. Here the whole-tone structures playfully transform into the half-step chromaticism that will ultimately be the dominating element of the last movement. While the instrumentation in this process hints at a (false) recapitulation, this impression disappears almost completely in the course of the continuously unfolding processes.

The clichés of whole-tone structures and pentatonicism and of the harmonies resulting from these delineate the image of impressionism that shapes our images and preconceptions. This movement attempts to disclose possibilities for transforming and breaking through these clichés.

 

Fourth part: Spools and Spirals

After a very brief introduction of just six measures that stand as motto for the as yet unformed harmonic possibilities in the field of chromaticism, we have the first phase. This, the longest (m. 7-397) fragment within the Clichés, is characterized by its episodic formation, where its segments are always terminated by percussion solos. One shouldn’t regard this as a variation form, since here as well new developmental possibilities are being continually sought out. Despite the clearly divided sections the processual character of the piece is not abandoned but rather emphasized.

The episodic character also serves to present modern clichés such as jazz and dance music, twelve-tone music, cross-fade techniques, theatricality, noise complexes, and rhythmic revolution. Here as in the other movements it attempts to offer imaginative solutions for breaking through rigid preconceptions.

In this first phase the piano is often used soloistically, thus further contributing to the percussive character. In the contrapuntally constructed episodes the tendency to reversals of dynamics is striking: voices of equal significance get different illuminations through sudden changes of dynamics. These voices then receive greater or lesser emphasis and thereby significance (see for example m. 127-133), thus contributing to the vibrant character of the musical matter. Where important voices hold sustained tones, these tones often lead either into gradual differentiations or into blurring of the elements. Some sections have clear contours, while others are more indistinct.

Apart from this, all the episodes repeatedly strive towards a climax. Their episodic nature and their climaxes result in that image of spools and spirals apostrophized by the title.

The second phase (m. 398-435) organizes the musical material horizontally. Here a kind of counterpoint appears which is however not linearly determined, but rather just the linear interpretation of the harmony that was exhaustively presented in the first phase. There are therefore no themes and replies (dux and comes), no expositions and developments as would be usual in traditional contrapuntal writing, but just linear formations grounded on harmonic successions. Some small alterations have also been composed into the increasingly differentiated ramifications.

Finally, the third phase hints at a further possible development into microtonality. It is carried out by two string quartets, whereby one is tuned a quartertone higher than the other, so that a microtonal effect is produced. But the composer has kept this phase brief, since the cliché of microtonality is at this time not so widespread as to permit taking up a comprehensive critical position.

 

Résumé

It’s not the cliché aspects of our world that are being presented here, but rather the possibility of going out from various clichés to a new creation, which (ironically) receives its impetus from a critique of the current music industry and of cultural politics. The individually mandated task of the composition consisted of using individual thinking, change, and transformation to give a deeper meaning to the cultural consensus shaped by mass consumption.

Besetzung: für großes Orchester
Entstehungszeit: 1995-2003 in Salzburg, in Wien und auf Reisen; fertig gestellt am 25. Dezember 2003 in Wien
Aufführungsdauer: ca. 30 Minuten

 

Mitte der neunziger Jahre begann ich, auf Anregung von Christoph von Dohnanyi, an einem Orchesterstück zu arbeiten. Aus der Zerrissenheit zwischen einem scheinbar ewig gültigen Kanon ‚klassischer Meisterwerke’ und der Isolation eines aus sich selbst heraus Suchenden entstand die Idee, gewisse Klischees des klassischen Musikbetriebs zu hinterfragen.

Der kühne Plan wurde geboren, die Entwicklung von Kompositionstechnik und stilistischer Vielfalt vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart in einem Musikstück darzustellen. Die Vorstellung einer in verschiedene ‚Schubladen’ geteilten Musikhistorie führte zur Konzeption eines zwölfgliedrigen Stückes, das sowohl Entwicklungen wie auch thematische Ansätze vereinen wollte.

Daher auch der Untertitel, »Bruchstücke in vier Teilen«: es sollten nicht nur vier Sätze im traditionellen Sinn geschaffen werden, sondern jedem Teil wurden drei der Buchstücke untergeordnet. Jedes dieser Bruchstücke wirkt durch die prozesshafte Formulierung als Phase des gesamten Werks. In der Partitur werden dadurch die einzelnen Teile jedes Satzes auch als 1., 2. und 3. Phase bezeichnet. (In dieser Werkbeschreibung ist Phase gleichzusetzen mit Prozess oder Bruchstück.)

Die Ambivalenz zwischen der klischeehaften Vorstellung von Musik und der musikalischen Fantasie bedurfte allerdings zahlreicher Kunstgriffe, damit der illusionäre und surreale Charakter eines im Kern parodistischen Werks nicht verloren ging.

 

Der erste Teil: Materie und Impuls

Musikalisches Material – Ton, Rhythmus und Skalen – und der Impuls, damit etwas anzufangen, verbinden sich in formaler Entwicklung, einer Entwicklung, die nie stehenbleiben kann. Zunächst der Ton: die rhythmisch durchbrochene Klangfläche, wie sie vielfach in religiöser Musik als gottgegeben dargestellt wird, im Geniekult des 19. Jahrhundert bis zum Überdruss gesteigert verwendet wurde und in der Moderne kompakt dramaturgisch eingesetzt wird, wird bewusst persifliert.

Im ersten Bruchstück des Satzes (Takte 1-42) werden harmonische und rhythmische Teilungsverfahren zu Basiselementen, bis schließlich die kleinste Tonhöhen-Einheit (Chromatik) zur 2. Phase überleitet. In dieser (Takte 43-83) lassen subtile Filterprozesse etwas wie Tonleitersysteme herauskristallisieren, die danach Klischees der Kirchenmusik und ihrer Tonarten sichtbar werden lassen. Die Bildung der Tonarten aus dem Chroma heraus, später die Manifestation der Kirchentonarten verbinden sich zum zweiten Bruchstück in diesem ersten Teil der Klischees.

Das mittelalterliche Organum bildet den Ausgangspunkt des letzten Bruchstücks des ersten Satzes (Takte 84-119), das durch eine marschartige Begleitung der kleinen Trommel und seine eigene rhythmische Feingliedrigkeit vollkommen ins Absurde gezogen wird. Hier kristallisieren sich auch jene sechs Akkorde heraus, die das eigentliche musikalische Material, den »Kern« des gesamten Werkes bilden – ganz gleich, in welchen Metamorphosen diese Akkorde erscheinen. Darüber hinaus basieren auch alle anderen Werke des großen Werkzyklus op. 22 auf diesen sechs Akkorden.

Man könnte daher auch herauslesen, dass die wirkliche Exposition des Werks erst mit dem dritten Bruchstück des ersten Satzes anläuft, und dass beim ihm vorhergehenden musikalischen Geschehen ein Prozess abläuft, der das Material dieser Exposition erst vorbereitet.

Der ostinate Impuls dieses Teils wird gegen zwei andere rhythmische Bewegungen gesetzt: eine punktierte, in achtstimmiger Streicherparallele ablaufende Entwicklung mit akkordischen Einwürfen der Bläser. Auf einer weiteren Ebene ist dieses letzte Bruchstück auch eine mehrdimensionale dynamische Studie, die aus einer Crescendostudie im Schlagzeug und differenzierteren dynamische Abläufen in den Streichern und den Bläsern besteht.

 

Der zweite Satz: Gefilterte Dreiklänge

Wie bereits der Titel dieses Teils besagt, ist das Hauptelement dieses Satzes jenes Klischee, das an sich die tonale Musik – insbesondere die tonale Musik mitteleuropäischer und damit Wiener Prägung – repräsentiert und damit auch geradezu zum abergläubisch verehrten Mythos einer Kunst unserer unmittelbaren Vergangenheit (und des 19. Jahrhunderts) wurde: der Dreiklang.

Im ersten Bruchstück dieses zweiten Teils (Takte 1-26) werden nun die einzelnen Akkorde, die am Ende des ersten Satzes erstmals deutlich zutage getreten sind, in horizontaler Richtung weiter ausdifferenziert.

Fast nahtlos geht dieser Teil in das zweite Bruchstück (Takte 27-105) über, das mittels Überschneidungen der sechs Grundakkorde nun jene »herausgefilterten« Dreiklänge zutage treten lässt, die Konturen eines weiteren Wiener Klischees – des Walzers – durchscheinen lässt, das wir nur zu gut kennen. Doch durch die eigenwillige Harmoniefolge und die äußerst rudimentären melodischen Einschübe, die eher wie kleine Restschnipsel einer großangelegten melodischen Struktur wirken, tritt ein ambivalenter Charakter zwischen Parodie und ernsthafter Auseinandersetzung zutage.

Als letztes Bruchstück (Takte 105-150) werden Walzer und 2/4-Takt zu einem raschen 5/4 kombiniert, in dem durch Jazz und Ragtimeanklänge ein neues Klischee verdeutlicht wird. Harmonisch werden die dur-moll-Akkorde insofern aufgewertet, als sie nun nicht nur bloß als Resultat permanenter Strukturumwandlungen erscheinen, sondern nunmehr dominant den Verlauf bestimmen. Am Ende dieses Teils wird diese Entwicklung sukzessive ausgeblendet.

 

Über die Tempi dieses Werks

Aufmerksame Zuhörer werden feststellen, dass es hier keine »langsamen« oder »schnellen« Sätze gibt, sondern dass die Sätze Merkmale verschiedener Tempi und Charaktere aufweisen. Entwicklung ist dabei wichtiger als Tempo, die Prozesshaftigkeit des Werks, die immer zu neuen Zielen führt, aber auch Ausgangspunkt neuer Ideen wird, sollte die oberste Devise bei der Erarbeitung einer Interpretation werden. Wie eine Spirale, die von oben aus betrachtet immer an dieselbe Stelle, von den Seiten aus gesehen aber nie mehr an dieselbe Stelle zurückkehrt (siehe Titel des letzten Satzes), so sollte das Werk auch im Gesamten angesehen werden …

 

Dritter Satz: Verwandlungen

In diesem Satz wandelt sich der Dreiklang in immer neuer Weise: vom dur-moll zunächst in verminderte und schließlich in übermäßige Dreiklänge. Auch die im zweiten Satz dominierende Diatonik verpuppt sich und verwandelt sich in eine Ganztonsphäre, die schließlich den Satz dominiert. Diese Metamorphose bekommt seine Gestalt durch den ersten Prozess (Takte 1-33).

Das Geschehen wird wie in den anderen Sätzen (Teilen) durch drei klar gegliederte, wenn auch ineinander übergehende Prozesse getragen, der erste dieser Prozesse wird durch den Wandel von dur-moll ins Ganztongefüge bestimmt. In diesem Teil stehen die rein tonalen Prozesse im Mittelpunkt, daher werden keine Schlaginstrumente mit Geräuscherzeugung, sondern lediglich Stabspiele (Vibraphon, Glockenspiel, etc.) verwendet.

Der zweite der Prozesse ist im Wesentlichen ein dramatisch rasch vorüberbrausender Teil (Takte 34-62), der ausschließlich jetzt gegeneinander gestellte Ganztonblöcke verarbeitet.

Ein zwischen Ganzton und Halbtonchroma kontrastierendes Frage- und Antwortspiel verschiedener Orchestergruppen (Takte 63-133) wird zum formgebenden Impuls für die dritte und letzte Phase dieses Satzes. Hier wandelt sich spielerisch das Ganzton- zum Halbtonchroma, das schließlich für den letzten Satz das dominierende Element wird. Zwar deutet die Instrumentation in diesem 3. Prozess eine Scheinreprise an, sie jedoch verschwindet inmitten der stetig fortschreitenden Prozesse so gut wie ganz.

Das Klischee der Ganztönigkeit, der Pentatonik und der daraus resultierenden Harmonik bestimmt jene Eingrenzung des Impressionismus, der unsere Vorstellungen und Vorurteile prägt. Dieser Satz will Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, diese Klischees zu durchbrechen und zu verändern.

 

Vierter Teil: Spulen und Spiralen

Nach einer äußerst kurzen Einleitung von 6 Takten, die als Motto für die noch zu gestaltenden harmonischen Möglichkeiten im chromatischen Bereich stehen, folgt die erste Phase: Dieses längste Bruchstück (Takte 7-397) innerhalb der Klischees wird durch seine episodenhafte Ausgestaltung charakterisiert, die immer von Schlagzeugsoli beendet werden. Keinesfalls darf man diese Form mit Variationen verwechseln, denn auch hier werden immer neue Möglichkeiten der Entwicklungen aufgesucht, und trotz der klar strukturierten Teile wird die Prozesshaftigkeit des Stücks nicht verlassen, sondern eher noch unterstrichen.

Die Episodenhaftigkeit dient auch dazu, Klischees der Moderne wie Jazz und Tanzmusik, Zwölftonmusik, instrumentationstechnische Überblendungstechniken, Theatralik, Geräuschkomplexe oder rhythmische Weiterentwicklung darzustellen. Wie in den anderen Sätzen, dient sie vornehmlich dazu, fantastische Lösungsvorschläge zur Durchbrechung starrer Vorstellungen zu suchen.

In dieser ersten Phase wird das Klavier oftmals solistisch eingesetzt, was zum intensivierten perkussiven Charakter dieser Phase zusätzlich beiträgt. Auffallend auch die Neigung zu dynamischen Wechselspielen bei kontrapunktisch angelegten Episoden: gleichwertige Stimmen werden durch unterschiedliche subito-Dynamik unterschiedlich ausgeleuchtet, dadurch bekommen die Stimmen einmal mehr und einmal weniger Bedeutung und Gewicht (siehe beispielsweise die Takte 127-133) und tragen zur Lebendigkeit der Materie bei. Auch durch verschieden eingesetzte Haltetöne wichtiger Stimmen entstehen oftmals graduell verschiedene Verdeutlichungen oder Verwischungen der Elemente – dadurch erscheinen einige Teile konturierter, andere undeutlicher.

Überdies streben alle Episoden immer wieder einen Höhepunkt an, was durch die Episodenhaftigkeit der Teile und damit auch deren Höhepunkte das Bild jener bereits im Titel apostrophierten Spiralen und Spulen ergibt.

Die zweite Phase (Takte 398-435) gestaltet das musikalische Material horizontal, wodurch eine Art Kontrapunktik entsteht, die jedoch nicht thematisch determiniert erscheint, sondern lediglich als lineare Ausdeutung der in der ersten Phase ausgiebig vorgestellten Harmonik. Es gibt daher keine Themen oder Antworten (Dux und Comes), auch keine Expositionen und Durchführungen, wie sie in der traditionellen Kontrapunktik üblich sind, sondern ausschließlich lineare Gebilde, die sich auf harmonische Verläufe beziehen. In die immer feineren Verästelungen sind auch einige kleine Alterationen mitkomponiert.

Die dritte Phase deutet schließlich eine weitere mögliche Entwicklung in die Mikrotonalität an. Sie wird von zwei Streichquartetten bestritten, eines davon ist um einen Viertelton höher gestimmt als das andere, somit wird eine Polytonalität zwischen beiden Gruppen erzeugt. Diese Phase wurde allerdings vom Komponisten so kurz wie möglich gehalten, denn das Klischee der Mikrotonalität ist heute noch nicht so ausgeprägt, als dass man ausführlich kritisch dazu Stellung beziehen könnte.

 

Resümee

Nicht die Klischeehaftigkeit unserer Welt soll aufgezeigt werden, sondern die Möglichkeit, aus verschiedenen Klischees zu neuem Schaffen zu finden, das (ironischerweise) seinen Impuls aus der Kritik an der heutigen Musikindustrie und Kulturpolitik empfängt. Die selbst gestellte Aufgabe bei der Komposition bestand darin, dem von Massenkonsum geprägten Kulturkonsens durch eigenes Denken, durch Wandel und Transformation einen tieferen Sinn zu verleihen.