»Dedicated to the Küchl Quartet, in memory of young victims of violence and suffering«

Commissioned by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education and Art (BMfUK)

For string quartet

Premiere: November 1993, in the Vienna Musikverein, with the Küchl Quartet
Duration: ca. 28 minutes
Score:
ECA Nr. 8024
Available through:
Edition Contemp Art (Verlagsgruppe Hermann)
Goldschmiedgasse 10, A-1010 Wien
E-mail: sales{at}hermann.eu | tel: +43 / 1 / 534 62 40 | Fax: +43 / 1 / 534 62 67

 

1st Sketch

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - I


Live recording, April 28, 2005, EWC in the ASC


2nd Sketch

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - II


Live recording, October 30, 2007, EWC in the ASC


3rd Sketch

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - III


Live recording June 29, 2002, EWC in the ASC


4th Sketch

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - IV


Live recording June 29, 2002, EWC in the ASC


5th Sketch

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - V


Live recording October 30, 2007, EWC in the ASC

 

René Staar: Introduction

For some time now I have been interested in relationships between chords that are not founded on the traditional, triadic thinking of major-minor tonality but that derive from the choral potentialities inherent in specific intervals. The inner structure of a chord can be decisively changed in a variety of ways. Transposition and inversion are two possibilities from traditional harmonic theory. I am, however, much more interested in interval-related mutations by means of an interchange of the implicit intervals within chords. This is a process I would describe as »Composition by means of chord realignment«.

An example: a four-note chord consists of three intervals one on top of the other. Should this four-note chord be composed - as in the present work - of two minor seconds (minor second = 2) and a major third (major third = 5), it can be transformed by chord realignment into another three completely different chords generating expressive possibilities quite unlike those of traditional transposition and inversion. The resulting chords would be (expressed in numbers):

2

5

2

5

2

2

2

2

5

It is immediately apparent that chord 3 is an inversion of chord 2 (although this has nothing in common with inversion in the traditional sense) while chord 1 stands apart despite its relationship to the other two.

Logically such chord realignment is only meaningful when at least three notes are played at the same time (a three-note chord) and that with four or more notes, together with the use of transposition, inversion and other compositional techniques, it can lead to an extremely complex, multifarious and intensive sonority.

Vanished Dreams is one of a group of works in which the division of intervals forms the harmonic starting-point. The triton, constituting half of the octave, defines the limits of the chords. To the three chords already described above can be added a further three gained by the inclusion of a whole tone (a third of a triton) - (whole tone = 3, minor third = 4):

3

4

3

2

2

3

4

3

3

Here it can be seen that chords 4 and 5 are in turn inversions, or rather mirror-images, of their partner chords while chord 6 (as antipode to chord 1) falls outside the system.

I chose the chord constellation described above as the harmonic starting-point for a complex of works to which my Metamorphoses of a Labyrinth, La Fontaine de Sang and the Metropolitan Midnight Music also belong.

All these works clearly reveal one common factor, namely that, as far as delimination is concerned, it is not the octave but the tritone that is of paramount importance.

Vanished Dreams was written in 1993 at the instigation of the Küchl Quartet and the aftermath of the arson attack on Turkish families in Mölln in which two children died. Spontaneously I decided to write a six-movement work to commemorate children and young people who died as a result of violence.

Superficially the work may appear to be one of grief and protest. However, a sense of life and of the joy in being alive initially dominates each movement as a pulsating nucleus that seeks to portray the lives and hopes of the young victims.

The movements together with their dedications are as follows:

I Allegro spirito – Adagio
In memory of Yeliz Arsian and Ayce Yilmaz, victims of the arson attack in Mölln on November 21st 1992

II Andante irreale a misterioso - vivo
In memory of Jaime Burgler who, on Feruary 12th 1993 aged 2, was murdered in Liverpool by two ten-year-old boys

III Allegro moderato
Dedicated to the children suffering with thyroid cancer as a direct result of the Tschernobyl disaster in 1986

IV Allegro eruptivo - Poco allegro
In memory of Vedrana Galavy (3 years old when she died) and Roki Sulejmanovic (just 14 month old) who were killed when snipers attacked a bus evacuating children from Sarajevo on August 1st 1992.

V Largo desolato
In memory of Laurent Gaudin who, infected by contaminated blood, died of aids in 1992.

VI Allegro moderato
For Marcello Rosa de Oliveira and his brother Marcos, both shot by armed man in civilian clothes on April 30th 1990 in Diadem, San Paolo because a signature was missing from their work passes.

Each movement grows out of a pulsating nucleus relating it to the life and the cultural environment of those to whom it is dedicated. The first movement contrasts two different kinds of dreamlike memories of Turkish folk-songs, the character of the second is that of a Berceuse while the third takes as its starting point a seemingly geometric mechanism that one could describe almost as abstract. In the fourth movement the form develops out of rhythmic nuclei stemming from two Bosnian folk-songs, one from Serbian, the other from a Muslim village, analogous to the two dedicatees. The fifth movement is the only one that is characterized by chronic disease and death from the very beginning while the sixth borrows its material from the many and diverse rhythms and accents of Brazilian »Musica Popular«.

The element of joy at the wonders if life is confronted with both the intrusion of violence and the element of grief. It is a form of grief, however, which gives a remarkable impression of remoteness, of being unrelated to those near to us but is rather an expression of our own bewilderment when confronted with the death and violence home to us by the media, an assault that we in turn try to parry as quickly as possible. These strains of mourning which permeate all the movements of the work - Variations on a »Pseudochoral« - are entitled »Distant Recollections of Nocturnal Bells« in the score. While this title may seem almost to reflect the aesthetic appeal of grief, it is intended rather as a recollection of melancholy that we can no longer feel or of grief for the loss of our own moral sensitivity.

It should not be overlooked in this work that the rhythmic components are mechanistic events as well as elements of life.

In this respect a preference for the number 5 becomes apparent. 5/8 bars and quintuplets are to be found in abundance whereby their use is always consistent with the structure of the particular movement.

The 5/8 rhythms in the first movement derive from the way in which the Turkish asak singer constantly shifts his stresses: so 3 plus 2 eighth notes alternate with 2 plus 3 over a three-bar period itself irregular.

The quintuplets in the Vivo of the second movement (»Distant Recollections of Nocturnal Bells II«) - cascading phrases producing a strangely alienating effect - derive from a conception of music from an altogether unreal dimension, a singular »Music of the Spheres«.

Two eighth notes and two dotted eighth notes constitute the pulse of the 5/8 bars in the fourth movement, an uneven, nervous pulsation in contrast to the steady motion of the first movement, which is soon joined by an even more nervous pulse of three eighth-note triplets and three eighth notes. The coming together of the two at the end of the movement conjures up the illusion of a stretto.

In the last movement the quintuplet is placed in the context of a rhythm constantly developing forwards from triplets through sixteenth notes to quintuplets. All these rhythms are accentuated in varying degrees by percussive collegno blows on the fingerboard. The movement’s coda reworks the given differentials once more in a new way by relativizing the tempi. A quintuplet sixteenth note becomes thus a sixteenth note, which means in effect that the beat is quicker while the motion stays the same. Accents and phrasing are shifted. The dominant impression at the end of the work is of the structure disintegrating at the same time as the motions strives, by means of relativizing the tempi, towards an illusory and unattainable end. I wanted in this way also to depict the perpetual chain of destruction and creation to which there is no foreseeable end. (René Staar, September 1993; Translation: Jeremy Day)

»Dem Küchl-Quartett im Gedenken an jugendliche Opfer von Gewalt und Leid gewidmet.«

Kompositionsauftrag des Bundesministeriums für Unterricht und Kunst (BMfUK)

Besetzung: für Streichquartett
Uraufführung: November 1993 im Wiener Musikverein, durch das Küchl-Quartett
Aufführungsdauer: ca. 28 Minuten
Notenmaterial:
ECA Nr. 8024
Erhältlich über:
Edition Contemp Art (Verlagsgruppe Hermann)
Goldschmiedgasse 10, 1010 Wien
email: sales{at}hermann.eu | Tel: +43 / 1 / 534 62 40 | Fax: +43 / 1 / 534 62 67

I. Allegro spirito - Adagio

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - I


Livemitschnitt vom 28. April 2005, EWC im ASC


II. Andante irreale e misterioso - Vivo

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - II


Livemitschnitt vom 30. Oktober 2007, EWC im ASC


III. Allegro moderato

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - III


Livemitschnitt vom 29. Juni 2002, EWC im ASC


IV. Allegro eruptivo - Poco Allegro

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - IV


Livemitschnitt vom 29. Juni 2002, EWC im ASC


V. Largo desolato

René Staar - Versunkene Träume op.22c - V


Livemitschnitt vom 30. Oktober 2007, EWC im ASC

René Staar: Werkeinführung

Seit einiger Zeit beschäftigen mich Verwandtschaften zwischen Mehrklängen, die nicht im traditionellen Stufendenken der Dur-moll-Tonalität begründet sind, sondern aus den einzelnen akkordimmanenten Intervallen abgeleitet werden. Die innere Struktur eines Akkordes kann durch verschiedenartige Prozesse entscheidend verändert werden. Dazu gehören Transposition und Umkehrung, wie sie von der traditionellen Harmonielehre gehandhabt werden. Mich interessiert jedoch viel mehr die intervallbezogene Umwandlung durch Tausch der in den Akkord einbezogenen Akkorde, ein Prozess, den ich als »Komposition mit Hilfe von Akkorddispositionen« bezeichnen möchte.

Ein Beispiel: Ein Vierklang besteht aus drei übereinander gelagerten Intervallen. Wenn man nun – wie im vorliegenden Werk – einen Vierklang aus zwei kleinen Sekunden (kleine Sekund = 2) und einer großen Terz (große Terz = 5) baut, dann kann er mittels Akkorddisposition in drei verschiedenartige Akkorde verwandelt werden, die eine völlig andere Aussagekraft ausstrahlen, als traditionelle Transpositions- und Umkehrungsverfahren. Die Akkorde würden dann (in Zahlen ausgedrückt) so aussehen:

2 5 2
5 2 2
2 2 5

Dabei lässt sich sofort ablesen, dass Akkord 3 eine Umkehrung (die jedoch nichts mit der traditionellen Umkehrung gemeinsam hat) von Akkord 2 darstellt, der Akkord 1 hingegen trotz seiner Verwandtschaft zu den beiden anderen herausfällt.

Logischerweise ergibt sich, dass solche Akkorddispositionen erst ab einem Zusammenklang von drei Tönen (einem »Dreiklang« also) sinnvoll werden und bei Vier- oder Mehrklängen und Anwendung von Transpositionen, Umkehrungen sowie anderer kompositorischer Mittel zu einem äußerst komplexen, reichhaltigen und intensiven Klanggebilde führen können.

Versunkene Träume gehört einem Werkkomplex an, in dem die Teilung von Intervallen den harmonischen Ausgangspunkt findet. Der Tritonus als Hälfte der Oktave bildet dabei die Umgrenzung der Akkorde. Den drei oben bereits beschriebenen Akkorden stehen noch drei weitere zur Seite, die durch Einbeziehung der Ganztons (ein Drittel des Tritonus) gewonnen werden (Ganzton = 3, kleine Terz = 4).

3 4 3
2 4 3
4 3 3

Hier sieht man, dass die Akkorde 4 und 5 wiederum Umkehrungen – oder besser gesagt: Spiegelbilder – ihrer Partnerakkorde sind, wobei Akkord 6 (als Antipode zu Akkord 1) aus dem Gefüge herausfällt.
Die hier beschriebene Akkordkonstellation wählte ich als harmonischen Ausgangspunkt für den Komplex von Werken, dem auch meine Kompositionen Metamorphosen eines Labyrinths, La Fontaine de Sang und Metropolitan Midnight Music angehören. Dabei wird klar, was all diesen Werken gemeinsam ist: dass der Tritonus als Grenzwert keine dominierende Bedeutung erhält.

Versunkene Träume entstand 1993 auf Anregung des Küchl-Quartetts unter dem Eindruck des Brandanschlags auf türkische Familien in Mölln, bei dem auch zwei Kinder ums Leben kamen. Spontan entschloss ich mich, ein sechssätziges Werk zu schreiben, das Jugendlichen und Kindern gedenken sollte, die auf gewaltsame Weise umgekommen sind.

Die Bezeichnungen der Sätze und ihre Widmungen lauten:
I. Allegro spirito – Adagio
»in memoriam Yeliz Arsian und Ayce Yilmaz, Opfer des Möllner Brandanschlages am 21. November 1992«

II Andante irreale e misterioso – vivo
»in Erinnerung an Jamie Burgler, der im Alter von zwei Jahren am 12. Februar 1993 von zwei Zehnjährigen ermordet wurde«

III Allegro moderato
Gewidmet den Kindern von Minsk, die als Folge des Reaktorunfalles 1986 in Tschernobyl an Schilddrüsenkrebs erkrankten

IV Allegro eruptivo – Poco Allegro (a)
In memoriam Vedranan Glavay (als Dreijährige gestorben) und Roki Sulejmanovic (der nur 14 Monate alt wurde), die am 1. August 1992 beim Angriff von Heckenschützen auf einen Bus, der Kinder aus Sarajevo evakuierte, umkamen.

V Largo desolato
In memoriam Laurent Gaudin, der durch verseuchtes Blut an Aids erkrankte und 1992 starb.

VI Allegro moderato
Für Marcello Rosa de Olivera und seinen Bruder Marcos, beide am 30. April 1990 in Diadema, Sao Paolo, von bewaffneten Männern in Zivilkleidung erschossen, da in ihren Arbeitsausweisen eine Unterschrift »fehlte«.

Jeder Satz ist aus einer pulsierenden Keimzelle mit Bezug auf das Leben und das geistige Umfeld der Widmungsträger gebildet. Der erste Satz kontrastiert zwei verschiedenartige traumartige Erinnerungen an türkische Volkslieder, der zweite ist dem Charakter nach eine Berceuse, der dritte wählt als Ausgangspunkt einen fast abstrakt zu nennenden, geometrisch anmutenden Mechanismus. Im vierten Satz entwickeln sich die Strukturen aus rhythmischen Keimzellen, die zwei bosnischen Volksliedern entstammen, eines aus einem serbischen, das andere aus einem muslimischen Dorf, analog zu den beiden Widmungsträgern. Als einziger Satz ist der fünfte von Beginn weg von siechender Krankheit und Tod gezeichnet, während der sechste seine Anregungen aus vielfältigen Rhythmus- und Akzentspielen der brasilianischen »Musica popular« entlehnt.

Der Freude an den Wundern des Lebens steht das Hereinbrechen der Gewalt gegenüber wie auch die Trauer, wobei diese merkwürdig distanziert wirkt, da sie keine Trauer über den Tod eines nahen Menschen ist, sondern uns die von den Medien nahegebrachte tödlichen Gewalt trauern lässt, die wir so rasch als möglich von uns schieben wollen. So wird diese sich durch alle Sätze des Werks hinziehende »Trauermusik« (als Variationen eines »Pseudochorals«) in der Partitur als »Ferne Erinnerung nächtlicher Glocken« betitelt. Dabei ist auch eine Erinnerung an eine uns nicht mehr zugängliche Wehmut oder an Trauer um den Verlust unserer eigenen Empfindsamkeit gemeint.

Die rhythmische Komponente als Element des Lebens, aber auch als Triebfeder mechanischer Abläufe, sollte in diesem Werk nicht übersehen werden. Dabei fällt vor allem die Vorliebe für die Zahl 5 auf. 5/8-Takte und Quintolen häufen sich, jedoch wird die Anwendung immer individuell an die Bauweise des Satzes angepasst. Der 5/8-Takt des ersten Satzes entspringt den dauernden Schwerpunktverlagerungen, die den türkischen Asak-Sängern eigen sind: 3+2 Achtel wechseln daher mit 2+3 Achteln in einer unregelmäßigen, dreitaktigen Periode.

Die Quintolen des Vivoteils im zweiten Satz (Ferne Erinnerung nächtlicher Glocken II) mit ihrer vom Quintolenkopf her abfallenden Phrasierung und der daraus resultierenden eigenartig befremdlichen Wirkung entspringen der Vorstellung einer irrealen Klangsphäre »wie aus einer anderen Dimension«.

Zwei Achtel und zwei punktierte Achtel bilden den Grundpuls des 5/8-Takts des 4. Satzes, im Gegensatz zur gleichlaufenden Bewegung des ersten Satzes eine »gesplittete«, nervöse Pulsation, der bald eine noch nervösere mit drei Achteltriolen und drei Achteln zur Seite gestellt wird. Die Verschränkung beiden Typen am Ende des Satzes beschwört die Illusion einer Engführung.

Im letzten Satz steht die Quintole im Kontext einer sich stets vorwärts entwickelnden Rhythmik von der Triole über die Sechzehntel zur Quintole. Alle diese Rhythmen werden durch schlagzeugähnliche col legno-Schläge auf das Griffbrett akzentuiert. Die Coda des Satzes verarbeitet die vorgegebenen Teilungen nochmals in neuer Weise mittels Relationen der Tempi. Eine Quintolensechzehntel wird dabei zur Sechzehntel, das heißt, der Takt wird mal schneller, während die Bewegung gleich bleibt. Betonung und Phrasierung verschieben sich. Der Eindruck einer gleichzeitig zerfallenden Struktur, während die Bewegung mit Hilfe der Temporelationen einem illusionären, nie erreichbaren Endpunkt zustrebt, dominiert das Ende des Werkes. Damit wollte ich auch den immerwährenden Kreislauf von Gewalt und Schöpfung ohne abzusehenden Endpunkt darstellen. (René Staar, 3. September 1993)