For large orchestra
Duration: ca. 20 minutes

 

This work was created in 1992/93, shortly after the loss I experienced through the death of my father, in the kind of creative frenzy that has also produced other works or work fragments. The sudden withdrawal from the real world into the state of wanting only to compose, this despite the demanding day-to-day job as orchestral musician, exemplifies the whole attitude of Metropolitan Midnight Music. It was also a soft (actually inaudible) protest against the music establishment and music business, in that it was (during a tour by the Vienna Philharmonic) inspired by the ghostly atmosphere of a sudden cold snap in the postmodernity of Toronto, Canada.

The cognizance of solitude within an apparently fulfilled but actually encumbered life, the experiences of forced isolation, of a society deprived of meaning and purpose, of the loss of the most important person in one’s life, and of the loss of meaning of one’s own actions within a modern urban agglomeration—these experiences imprinted the formation of this four-movement orchestral work, whose musical structure is shaped through the network of five spatially distributed orchestral groups: a chamber orchestra, a brass band, a woodwind octet, a percussion group, and a string orchestra.

The second movement is titled »Yearning for Silence«. The third is called »Shadows at Night« and characterizes diverse impressions of a modern big city. While the work was at first titled »Toronto Midnight Music« and then »Tokyo Midnight Music«, the title Metropolitan Midnight Music was finally chosen, since the piece could reflect on any deserted midnight shopping center in any modern city. The absurd echoes (the first movement is indeed titled »Echoes«) of a synthetic big city and of the many suburbs that have built up around the older big cities—these are echoes that one first hears when things have died down at night. Then one can experience the artificial acoustic of corridors and lobbies that are empty or almost empty.

Twisted echoes of one’s steps then resonate in the ears, and the shadows of the night appear to move (pretty rapidly at least for the brain, this organ that slows down in the monotony of the night), and many who can’t take this try to shake off the »Midnight Fever« (title of the fourth movement) in discos, bars, and casinos. This movement plays with the impression of the opening and closing door of a loud disco in a wintry big city that has put on a muting coat of snow.

So apart from reflecting the feeling of personal loss this work also contains a soft premonition of that violent revolt that strikes the big cities now and then, and that tries to break out of solitude, lack of opportunity, and lack of hope. Los Angeles—London—Paris: inflammatory and agitating trends have it easy, since the politicians have given things over to police control, focusing on containment, without developing any visionary concepts for the solution of the real problems.

Besetzung: für großes Orchester
Aufführungsdauer: ca. 20 Minuten

 

Dieses Werk entstand 1992/93 kurz nach dem Verlust meines Vaters, in einer Art Schaffensrausch, in dem auch andere Werke bzw. Werkfragmente entstanden sind. Dem plötzlichen Rückzug von der Welt ins nur noch Komponieren-Wollen trotz des zeitaufwendigen Brotjobs als Orchestermusiker entspricht auch die ganze Haltung der Metropolitan Midnight Music. Diese war auch ein leiser, unhörbarer Protest gegen Musikestablishment und Musikbetrieb, in seiner Entstehungsgeschichte allerdings etwas paradox, da (während einer Reise der Wiener Philharmoniker) durch die gespenstische Atmosphäre des Wintereinbruchs in der Postmodernität der kanadischen Stadt Toronto inspiriert.

Die Erkenntnis der Einsamkeit in einem scheinbar erfüllten, aber eher belasteten Leben, die Erlebnisse der erzwungenen Isolation, einer sinnentleerten Gesellschaft, des Verlusts der wichtigsten Person im Leben eines Menschen, des Verlusts der Sinnhaftigkeit des eigenen Tuns inmitten eines modernen Ballungszentrums prägten den Entstehungsprozess des viersätzigen Orchesterwerks, dessen musikalische Struktur durch das Geflecht der Beziehungen von fünf im Raum verteilten Orchestergruppen (einem Kammerorchester, einer Blechbläserband, einem Holzbläseroktett, einer Schlagzeuggruppe und einem Streichorchester) gestaltet wird.

Der zweite Satz ist mit »Yearning for Silence« (frei übersetzt mit: Sehnsucht nach Stille) betitelt, der dritte heißt »Shadows at Night« (Schatten der Nacht) und charakterisiert verschiedene Eindrücke einer modernen Großstadt. Zunächst als »Toronto Midnight Music«, später als »Tokyo Midnight Music« betitelt, wurde schließlich der Titel »Metropolitan Midnight Music« gewählt, da das Stück jedes x-beliebige mitternächtlich verlassene Einkaufszentrum jeder x-beliebigen modernen Stadt widerspiegeln könnte. Die absurden Echos (der erste Satz heißt auch »Echoes«) einer künstlichen Großstadt (auch der vielen Satellitenstädte, die sich um ältere Großstädte gebildet haben), die man erst hört, wenn sie nächtens ausgestorben sind: dann hört man das Plastik der Gänge und Foyers, in denen sich niemand oder nur wenige befinden.

Dann hallen die eigenen Schritte in verzerrten Echos in den Ohren, die Schatten der Nacht scheinen sich zu bewegen (sogar ziemlich rasch zumindest für das Gehirn, dieses sich in der Ereignislosigkeit der Nacht verlangsamende Organ) und viele, die diesen Zustand nicht ertragen, versuchen, das »Midnight Fever« (so der Titel des vierten Satzes) in Tanzbars, Kneipen und Spielhöllen loszuwerden. Dieser Satz spielt mit der Impression einer sich öffnenden und schließenden Tür einer lauten Disco in einer winterlichen Großstadt, die sich in einen dämpfenden Schneemantel gehüllt hat.

So spiegelt dieses Werk insgesamt neben dem Gefühl des persönlichen Verlusts auch die leise Vorahnung jenes gewalttätigen Aufbegehrens wieder, das von Zeit zu Zeit die großen Städte heimsucht, und das von der Isolation, der Einsamkeit, der Chancenlosigkeit, der Hoffnungslosigkeit befreien soll. Los Angeles – London – Paris: aufputschende und aufhetzende Tendenzen haben es leicht, weil die Politik das Feld nur mehr einer eindämmenden Polizeigewalt überlässt, aber keine visionären Konzepte zur Behebung der wirklichen Probleme entwickelt.