for B-flat clarinet and piano

World premiere: 19 May 2022 by Stefan Neubauer and Johannes Piirto

Duration: 2'05''

Composed during October 2021 (completed on 31.10.2021)

 

What? Who? How? Is a Hartzell?

Was? Wer? Wie? Ist ein Hartzell?

This small musical memorial to the composer, who was born in Cincinnati (Ohio) in 1932 and died in Vienna in 2000, is based on my personal recollections and the deep impression his compositions made on me.

To begin with, there are the musical letters of his name: E-G-H-A; then the syncopated rhythms so characteristic of his music, which are in the blood of every American through the experience of jazz – and which in Hartzell's case acquired an inherent aura of cultivated balance; and finally, the principle of the twelve-tone row transmitted to him by Hans Erich Apostel, with Hartzell exploring its manifold relationships to tonality and especially the harmony of jazz.

All these components are intermixed in my short piece within a breathless time-lapse. Those who want to enjoy the "laid-back" atmosphere created by Hartzell's own music should therefore better stick to his own compositions – for instance, the 2nd movement of his Chamber Symphony, which I conducted in 1997.

Besetzung: für B-Klarinette und Klavier
Entstehung: Oktober 2021 (Fertigstellungsdatum 31.10.2021)
Aufführungsdauer: 2'05''

Uraufführung: am 19. Mai 2022 durch Stefan Neubauer und Johannes Piirto

 

What? Who? How? Is a Hartzell?

Was? Wer? Wie? Ist ein Hartzell?

Dieses kleine musikalische Denkmal für den 1932 in Cincinnati (Ohio) geborenen und im Jahr 2000 in Wien verstorbenen Komponisten basiert auf meinen Erinnerungen an ihn und an den tiefen Eindruck, den sein Werk auf mich machte.

Da sind zunächst die musikalischen Buchstaben seines Namens E-G-H-A; dann die ihm so eigenen synkopierten Rhythmen, die jedem Amerikaner durch die Erfahrung des Jazz im Blut liegen, und denen bei Hartzell eine Aura der kultivierten Balance innewohnte; und schließlich die ihm durch Hans Erich Apostel vermittelte Zwölftonreihe, deren mannigfaltige Beziehungen zur Tonalität Hartzell nachspürte und die bei ihm stets unvermittelt in eine Jazzharmonik umschlagen konnte.

Im atemlosen Zeitraffer werden diese Komponenten in dem kurzen Stück durchmischt. Wer die von Hartzell so geliebte »Laid-back«-Atmosphäre genießen möchte, sollte sich daher besser an seine eigenen Kompositionen halten, etwa an den (1997 von mir dirigierten) 2. Satz aus seiner Kammersymphonie.