»For Pierre Boulez with great gratitude for his suggestions and inspirations«

For ensemble: flute, 3 clarinets, 2 horns, piano, 3 violins, 2 violas, and cello
Premiere: June 16, 2009, Arnold Schönberg Center (Vienna), played by the Ensemble Wiener Collage, conducted by Pierre Boulez
Duration: ca. 9 minutes
Score (Extract, Pdf)

Notes to P. B. forever (2009)

by René Staar

Quotation of the letters representing musical pitches is, in contrast to the use of a musical theme, generally the presentation of an aphorism consisting of only a few tones. From the music of the Second Viennese School onwards such quotations have generally been used as mottos. Alban Berg’s Chamber Concerto, for example, uses the musically representable letters of the names of Arnold Schönberg (A—D—E flat—C—B—B flat—E—G), Anton Webern (A—E) and Alban Berg (A—B flat—E), which are then incorporated into a tone row that shapes the concerto’s structure.

It is clear that the Viennese School founded an individual tradition here, one which was in the second half of the twentieth century continued by other composers, for example by Pierre Boulez in his composition Messagesquisse, a piece dedicated to Paul Sacher. Boulez uses the letters S (German for E flat)—A—C—H (German for B natural)—E—R, whereby he interprets R as the French Re (D natural), thus expanding the vocabulary of musical letter quotation.

The composer René Staar drives this game of quotation to the point of excess. In his collection Homage (op. 14), the musical letter comes close to becoming a fetish. The first pieces were composed in 1985: Ständchen und Sitzchen, dedicated to Ernst Krenek for his 85th birthday. The stark alternation E—E flat—E is here expanded, in Ständchen horizontally by the solo violin, in Sitzchen vertically by the piano. Since that time he has written almost a dozen similar compositions, for example the Bagatelles on the name of György Ligeti (1989–1996) for piano, or the improvisation piece Jam Session »for Fritz« (1997), dedicated to Friedrich Cerha. In each of these pieces, the utilized musical letters are complemented by a whole collection of underlying stationary harmonic structures. Generally speaking, all the letter quotation patterns in this cycle are to be read vertically, i. e. harmonically, even though they might appear in a sequential manner.

P. B. forever has the largest instrumentation of any of the pieces currently included by the composer in this collection of Homages. It is written for a chamber ensemble of 13 instrumentalists, and uses the musical letters of the name Pierre Boulez: E—Re (French for D)—B (German for B flat)—E—Z (=S, German for E flat) in the complete French reading and also in the German reading without Re.

Staar consequently obtains three- and also four-part chords for the compositional structure. Particularly notable is how the fourth B flat—E flat (or its inversion as the fifth E flat—B flat) and also (as opposing pole) the tritone E—B flat take on a central significance for the composition.

This contrast becomes evident in the first part of the work, a sort of back-and-forth exchange between winds and strings that ends with a »quasi cadenza« by the piano. While the winds playing forte are characterized by the openly presented fourth—fifth constellation, the strings veil this in pianissimo through a structured reversal of the intervals of the harmony. The piano’s cadenza then mixes fourths with tritones.

In an overall view, the work is a large-scale rondo, whereby the beginning keeps recurring in various forms up to the closing dissolution of the rhythmic structure. The other parts of the work are characterized particularly by the notion of various forms of multi-dimensional reliefs, acoustically differentiated from one another by instrumentation and dynamics, or by rhythms and tempos.

The work is dedicated to Pierre Boulez, under whose direction it was premiered on 16. June 2009 in the Arnold Schoenberg Center in Vienna. {Translation: Jorge E. López}

»Für Pierre Boulez in großer Dankbarkeit für seine Inspiration und Anregungen«

Besetzung: für Flöte, 3 Klarinetten, 2 Hörner, Klavier, 3 Violinen, 2 Violen und Violoncello
Uraufführung: am 16. Juni 2009 im ASC durch das EWC unter der Leitung von Pierre Boulez
Aufführungsdauer: ca. 9 Minuten
Partitur (Ausschnitt, Pdf)

Notizen zu »P.B. forever« (2009)

von René Staar

Das Buchstabenzitat ist im Unterschied zum musikalischen Thema (das vor allem in der Variationstechnik der klassisch-romantischen Musik eine große Rolle spielt) eine Formel, die meist auf nur wenige Töne zusammengedrängt wird. Ausgehend von der Kunst der Wiener Schule wird das Zitat vor allem als Motto verwendet. Alban Bergs Kammerkonzert verwendet beispielsweise die musikalisch verwertbaren Buchstaben der Namen Arnold Schönberg (also A–D–Es–C–H–B–E–G), Anton Webern (A–E) und Alban Berg (A–B–E), die dann in einer Reihe, die für das Konzert strukturell bestimmend ist, aufgehen.

Man kann mit großer Gewissheit sagen, dass die Wiener Schule damit eine ganz eigene Tradition begründet hat, die vielfach in der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts fortgesetzt wurde, so auch in der Komposition Messagesquisse von Pierre Boulez, die Paul Sacher gewidmet ist. Boulez verwendet die Buchstaben Es–A–C–H–E–R, wobei er das R französisch als Re, also zu deutsch D liest, und erweitert damit das Vokabular des Buchstabenzitats.

In seinem Hommagenzyklus op. 14 treibt René Staar das Zitatenspiel auf die Spitze: Die ersten Werke der Sammlung, Ständchen und Sitzchen für Ernst Krenek zum 85. Geburtstag, entstanden 1985 und komponieren den kargen Tonschritt E–Es–E aus, im Ständchen für Solovioline horizontal, im Sitzchen für Klavier vertikal. Inzwischen sind fast ein Dutzend weitere Kompositionen entstanden, so die Bagatellen auf den Namen György Ligeti (1989-1996) für Klavier und das Improvisationsstück Jam Session »for Fritz« (1997), das Friedrich Cerha gewidmet ist. Die verwendeten musikalischen Buchstaben werden in jedem Stück durch eine der ganzen Sammlung gleichbleibende harmonische Grundstruktur ergänzt. Generell aber sind alle Ton-Muster in vertikaler, also harmonischer Art in diesem Zyklus zu lesen, auch wenn sie einen reihenähnlichen Verlauf nehmen.

P.B. forever verwendet die musikalischen Buchstaben des Namens Pierre Boulez, also E–Re (D)–B–E–Es sowohl in französischer als auch in deutscher Schreibweise, also ohne Re. Daher erhält man für die Kompositionsstruktur sowohl Drei- als auch Vierklänge. Auffallend dabei ist, dass für die Komposition die Quart B–Es (bzw. deren Umkehrung als Quint Es–B), aber auch der Tritonus E–B zentrale Bedeutung erlangen.

Im ersten Teil des Werks, einer Art Wechselspiel zwischen Bläsern und Streichern, das in einer »Quasi-Kadenz« des Klaviers endet, wird dieser Kontrast deutlich. Während die Bläser im forte von der offen dargebrachten Quart-Quint-Konstellation geprägt sind, verdecken die Streicher dies im pp durch bewusst gewählte Intervallumstellungen der Harmonik. Die Kadenz des Klaviers mischt dann Quarten mit Tritoni.

Im großen Zusammenhang stellt sich das Werk als groß angelegtes Rondo dar, wobei der Anfang als Ritornell in verschiedener Gestalt immer wiederkehrt, bis hin zur Auflösung der rhythmischen Struktur am Ende. Die anderen Teile des Werks werden vor allem durch die Vorstellung verschiedenartiger mehrdimensionaler Reliefs geprägt, die sich durch die Instrumentation, die Dynamik, aber auch durch Rhythmik oder Tempi klanglich voneinander abheben.

P.B. forever ist das bislang größtbesetzte Stück in op. 14: es wurde für ein Kammerensemble mit 13 Instrumentalisten geschrieben. Gewidmet ist es Pierre Boulez, der es am 16. Juni 2009 im Arnold Schönberg Center in Wien selbst aus der Taufe hob.