»To Sigrid Wiesmann for her Birthday«

For celeste and piano
Premiere: Dezember 21, 2005, Arnold Schönberg Center (Vienna)
Duration: ca. 2'30''

The Austrian musicologist Sigrid Wiesmann was close to the Ensemble Wiener Collage, right from the time of its foundation in the late 1980’s. In late summer 2001 I was therefore asked to prepare a musical contribution for the commemorative volume titled »Zeit-Wart / Gegen-Geist«, issued on the occasion of her 60th birthday.

The resulting work is an example of a manner of composing that I first employed in my Bagatelles on the name of György Ligeti, where the main components are different tempo relations and the rhythmic patterns resulting from these, as well as combination of different harmonic dispositions of one and the same chord.

The underlying idea of the work is simple: the musical letters of the name Sigrid Wiesmann are played through completely in two differently harmonized formations. These and their corresponding forms of retrograde, inversion, and retrograde inversion are played through completely in three different transpositions, and then in a fourth (coda) section only three quarters through. The musical letters of the name SiGriD wiESmAnn appear 60 times, a compact birthday present.

The working out of this idea is, however, complex. The unfolding does not (as one might first expect) follow simple variation principles, but has the relations between the various tempi determined by the distributional principle 2 : 3 : 5. The necessity thus ensued of giving each of the 60 musical name references individual form and character analogous to the individual tempi. The first basic tempo is quarter note 60, the second quarter note 90, and the third quarter note 150. The three basic tempi thus lay down the durations of the three sections. Within each section, its basic tempo yields other tempos in similar relations, these being however not identical to the three original basic tempos. Finally, the coda uses only the three original tempi.

A form thus appears that has nothing to do with expositions and recapitulations in the classical sense, but presents rather three different processes, a form whose coda then attempts to draw a conclusion from the yielded results.

Sigrid Wiesmann was head of the consulting musicological group of the Ensemble Wiener Collage. She died tragically in a car accident in Tirol in December 2001, shortly after her 60th birthday. So this short piece became memorial music not only for a dear friend of the ensemble, but also for a friend of new music in general. [René Staar, 2001]

A note regarding the realization:
The material seemed at first conceivable for numerous different instrumental combinations. For reasons of time, the composer could work out only one version. The piece can be performed by piano and celeste, or by two pianos. Since the celeste is notated an octave below sounding pitch, the alternative part Piano I must be played so that it sounds an octave higher than written. This scoring, up to now the only realization of the material, was chosen by the composer partly because of the proximity to Christmas. So it could also be understood as a kind of Advent Music.

»Sigrid Wiesmann zum Geburtstag gewidmet«

Besetzung: für Celesta und Klavier
Uraufführung: am 21. Dezember 2005 im ASC
Aufführungsdauer: ca. 2'30''

Die österreichische Musikwissenschaftlerin Sigrid Wiesmann stand dem Ensemble Wiener Collage seit seiner Gründung in den späten 80er Jahren nahe. Ich wurde daher im Spätsommer 2001 gebeten, einen musikalischen Beitrag zu einer Festschrift für Sigrid Wiesmann »Zeit-Wart / Gegen-Geist« aus Anlass ihres 60. Geburtstags zu verfassen.

Das Resultat der Arbeit erscheint wie ein Modell einer erstmals in meinen Bagatellen auf den Namen György Ligeti verwendeten Kompositionsweise, in der Temporelationen und sich daraus ergebende rhythmische Muster, aber auch Kombinationen verschiedener harmonischer Dispositionen ein und desselben Akkords wichtige Komponenten darstellen.

Die Grundidee des Werks ist einfach: Die musikalischen Buchstaben des Namen Sigrid Wiesmann in zwei verschiedenen harmonisierten Gestaltungen und den jeweils zugehörigen Formen (Krebs, Umkehrung, Umkehrungskrebs) werden in drei verschiedenen Transpositionen ganz, in einer vierten zu drei Viertel (quasi als Coda) abgespielt. Insgesamt erscheinen die musikalischen Buchstaben des Namens SiGriD wiESmAnn 60mal, sozusagen also ein Geburtstagsständchen.

Die Ausführung jedoch ist komplex, denn der Ablauf folgt nicht etwa simplen Variationsprinzipien (wie man zunächst meinen möchte), sondern den Teilungsverhältnissen 2:3:5, die die Relationen der einzelnen Tempi bestimmen. Daher ergab sich auch die Notwendigkeit, jeder einzelnen der 60 musikalischen Namensnennungen analog zu den eigenen Tempi auch einen eigenen Charakter und damit eine eigene Gestalt zu geben. So beträgt das erste Grundtempo Viertel = 60, das zweite Viertel = 90 und das dritte Viertel = 150. Die drei Grundtempi geben dann den drei Teilen ihre Dauer vor. Innerhalb jedes Teils ergeben sich aus dem Grundtempo andere Tempi in denselben Verhältnissen, die jedoch nicht mit den drei Grundtempi ident sind. Die Coda schließlich spielt nur mehr mit den Grundtempi.

Daraus ergibt sich eine Form, die nichts mit Expositionen oder Reprisen im klassischen Sinn zu tun hat, sondern drei verschiedene Prozesse darstellt, deren Coda dann die Summe aus den daraus gewonnenen Resultaten zu ziehen sucht.

Sigrid Wiesmann war Leiterin einer beratenden musikwissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppe des Ensembles Wiener Collage. Sie verstarb tragischerweise bei einem Autounfall im Dezember 2001 in Tirol kurz nach ihrem 60. Geburtstag. Somit wurde dieses kurze Stück auch zu einer Gedenkmusik an eine liebe Freundin nicht nur des Ensembles, sondern der neuen Musik generell. {René Staar, 2001}

Anmerkung zur Ausführung: Das Material war zunächst in vielen verschiedenen Instrumentierungen denkbar. Aus Zeitgründen war es jedoch nur möglich, eine Fassung auszuarbeiten. Das Stück kann entweder von Celesta und Klavier ausgeführt werden, oder von zwei Klavieren. Nachdem die Celesta oktavierend notiert ist, ist der alternative Part Klavier I ebenfalls oktavierend gedacht, muss also ebenfalls eine Oktave höher als notiert klingen. Diese Instrumentierung der bislang einzigen Realisation des Materials wurde nicht zuletzt aufgrund der Nähe zum Weihnachtsfest gewählt: es könnte auch als eine Art Adventmusik gelesen werden.